Excerpts from works

Is This The Way It’s Supposed to Be?

 

image

When I think about it, my chest tightens. I feel that there is something pressing against me. I look in the mirror. I see a wrinkle that I didn’t notice yesterday or the day before. My hair is white in places where black once occupied it. Two of my boys are taller than I am and before I turn around they will be grown.   Time flies away. It’s the only thing around here that does. Where will I be when they move away? When I was young I thought that I had all the time in the world. I didn’t. Now I watch and wait. Will I move too? Or will I stand still. I don’t want to stand still. I want to fly, to soar like the eagles. That’s when my chest tightens and I feel like I can’t breathe. It happens almost every time when I think about life passing me by while everyone runs with it. I want to run too. I don’t want to be left behind. No one wants to be left, do they? This is what threads through my mind like a poison, eating away at me. It eats away until I push into the filing box of my mind until next time.

One thought on “Is This The Way It’s Supposed to Be?

Leave a Reply

