Excerpts from works · Personal · Uncategorized

Jumping All In

The last month has been crazy. When I’m not teaching and answering questions, I am on my computer. In the last month, I have watched videos on how to use Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, and Indesign. I decided I was going to quit putting off my desire to create and publish books. And so I have jumped into the deep water.  I needed something to be my own. My boys are getting older. They don’t need me as much for the little things (I may need to go cry now).  And since they are more independent, I’ve decided that there is no time like the present to get started with some of my dreams.  So, I’ve been working on a book. A children’s book to be more specific (I’ve been working on a novel for at least five years)  and a journal and a writing prompt book and a coloring book. The ideas keep coming. But I thought I might share some snippets of my children’s bookMarvin2

Meet Marvin. He is a hungry little bird. My inspiration was a bearded reedling. I’ve never seen one in person, but they are beautiful in the pictures.Marvin8

And all he can think about is food.Marvin 16

My inspiration was my boys.IMG_3539

They are hungry alot. So is the dog, Zack. He likes treats and human food (He also knows how to pose for a picture).Marvin20

This was my middle child’s idea. I think it turned out cute. I see a few places I need to go in and fix, but I think it’s a super cute idea.

This has definitely been a learning curve, but a fun one. There’s a lot to creating your own books.  I’m going to try to share my experiences on here. I’ve always done the blog in spurts. I guess we will see how it goes. But for now, I’ve got to get back to helping the boys with their work and working on the books.

Leave a Reply

